The Anchor in Choosing a Job

For the past few years I have been trying to discern what I want to do for a living and where I want to do it. To put it another way, I have been searching for wisdom on the subject of career.

I was raised moving all over the midwest, moving every time my father took a new job, every time he took a transfer, every time my mother wanted to attend a different school (or whatever was behind those later moves). I have moved several times in my adulthood for job opportunities or family needs.

My brother has settled in one city, claimed it as his home town and has taken whatever work he can get there. Some of my friends have also anchored to a town; others have anchored to a job that has them anchored to one college or hospital or library and so are anchored to that town.

Some of them have asked me to anchor to that same town as them, and part of me deeply wants to. But I can not seem to do it. I feel adrift. My husband and I were talking about it this week and he suggested that because I never bonded to a hometown in my early life I may not be entirely capable of it. I do agree mostly that I may live somewhere for 30 years and never call it my hometown. However, some towns have felt almost like a hometown, Richfield, MN, Milwaukee, WI, Marshalltown, IA, and maybe even Medina, OH. And they have nothing in common; I can find no trigger to make me think of them as a hometown.

This morning a simile came to me and I would like to share it with you. As pirates sink anchor in the place where they will bury their chest of treasure, so workers sink anchor according to what they treasure. As with all similes, this should be spoken and left, never overwrought.

I think if people treasure family and childhood, they will take whatever kind of work they can to stay in that town and are not likely to strive for worldly success. If they treasure the objects of the American Dream, they will get the education they need and get a job fairly close by that will give them enough pay for that house, car, and toys. If they treasure the corporate ideal of fancy cars, houses, clothes and travel, they will get the education they need and rise up the corporate ladder, moving to any town that will further their career. If they treasure education and their calling, they will become ministers, doctors, or academics and move as their career dictates.

None of these describes either my parents or myself. So I wander adrift.

I seem to have projects. Projects that are not turning into paying careers. As a result, career choice is proving difficult.

Hopefully, it will come together.

1 Comment

  1. Janice

    This post sparked some discussion in our family. We treasure legacy. The preservation, restoration, and continuation of legacy. I also treasure continuous learning, discovering new things.

Leave a Reply

