Should I Grow My Hair Long?

For decades I had hair long enough to reach the middle of my back. A couple of times I ha it cut to shoulder length, and then would immediately grow it back down. Last summer I had it cut VERY short. Less than an inch in places. People complimented me on my new look.

But I am still wanting to grow it back every time I look in a mirror or see someone with long hair.

In the last week, I realized that my sense of feminine beauty is of long, thick hair. So my sense of beauty is at odds with what others find attractive. And I am not sure whether to appease others or do what makes me feel beautiful.

Perhaps this often happens. Has it happened to you? Is your ideal of masculine or feminine beauty at odds with what others find attractive about you?

As for my hair, I will leave it short as long as I need it short for work safety. However, I don’t think I’ll ever think my hair is beautiful like this.

3 Comments

  1. I’m a long hair girl myself. I think if you can pull off short hair then good for you. Some people just look better than others with short hair, I think.

  2. Sue

    Keep calm and let it grow!

  3. Jeannette

    I have had my hair short and long at different times in my life. I enjoyed it both ways. But….short is soooooo much easier to take care of. Also, altho I have a lot of hair, it is perfectly straight and thin. So when it is long, I get out the barrettes, bobby pins and curling iron…
    That said, my hair is now shoulder length so, yes, I am in that stage!
    So, I guess it depends on how much work you want to put into your hair. 🙂
    Do what makes you feel good.

Leave a Reply

