Moments of Pressure

My body has been telling me, through my bowel health and sugar cravings, that I am under too much pressure. I thought for a few months that the negative thought cycles were at the base of it. I am now thinking that the pressure from an external source, which may be a quota load, due date, or someone’s expectations, is what comes first. Then the negative thoughts compound the pressure and internal pressures happen.

Posters, ads, and slogans suggest that I find moments of rest and meditate to relieve the pressure. It does help while I rest, and then I am back in action and under pressure. My negative predictions chime in that I will not find a way to avoid pressure in the future. My negative judgments chime in that the whole situation is horrible and that intensifies the internal pressure.

Finding gratitude seems to help. So does noticing that this moment of pressure will pass.

Finding an alternative to the pressure-filled situation is the best active solution. I will work on that as I go forward and try to hold the positive prediction in my mind as much as possible.

Dear reader, do you find that external sources of pressure can lead you to negative thought cycles? Does the pressure over time feel like a source of pain? Will you need to heal that source of pain to have greater positive thought cycles?

One thought on “Moments of Pressure

  1. External pressures do seem to catalyze thought cycles, but I have found that each cycle allows me to “move the needle” of the cycle. Every encounter of a similar external pressure, strengthens a resolve to it. “Posters, ads, and slogans suggest that I find moments of rest and meditate to relieve the pressure.” This brought to me the realization that the worlds flashing signs of advice can be shallow to the deeper work needed to understand myself and my response to these situations. It is something I will reflect on from this piece and something I haven’t considered before.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.